February 7, 2024

2024 Block Island Race Registration is now open

As the 77th edition of the Block Island Race opens for entries, it might be worth noting that in the last Bermuda Race year in 2022, 77 boats embarked on the race from Stamford, Conn., on that Friday afternoon in May. This year, on May 24th at 2 pm, Storm Trysail Club hopes to see even more entries take on the 186nm adventure.

Storm Trysail Club offers options for teams looking for practice before the iconic ocean race in June or for local racers looking for a new challenge. Boats can opt to sail ORC or PHRF in the 186nm around Block Island or 136nm down Long Island Sound to Plum Island.

Commodore Ray Redniss, a seasoned sailor with over 40 years of experience as both a participant in the Race and a dedicated member of the Race Committee, emphasizes the distinctive nature of the racetrack this time of year. "What sets this course apart is the diverse range of conditions that may unfold in late May," he notes. "Sailors consistently find their resilience and skill challenged in these dynamic scenarios, truly highlighting the formidable spirit of the Block Island Race."

In response to the evolving dynamics of competitive sailing, the Race committee implemented a new rule in 2023. This rule mandates that an operational AIS Transponder must be carried and switched on from the boat's start until it finishes or is no longer sailing, ensuring continuous transmission and reception.

Now in a strategic partnership with Raymarine, participants in the 2024 Block Island Race can take advantage of an exclusive offer. Race participants who purchase a new Raymarine AIS700 transceiver from any Raymarine dealer or reseller before May 31, 2024, will be eligible for a $200 prepaid Visa card rebate. See the details below.

The Block Island Race is a qualifier for the Northern Ocean Racing Trophy (ORC), the Double Handed Ocean Racing Trophy (ORC), and the New England Lighthouse Series (PHRF). The Block Island Race is also a qualifier for the De Coursey Fales (PHRF), Sagola (PHRF) and Windigo (PHRF) Trophies, the du Moulin Cup for Double Handed Racing and the Youth Challenge Cup awarded by the YRA- LIS, as well as the STC Rugg Family Youth Offshore Challenge, and the “Tuna Trophy” for the best ORC combined scores in the EDLU (40%) and the Block Island Race (60%).