October 26, 2019

Two-Course Format Gives Sailors Choice of Fort Lauderdale or Miami Starts on December 6th

This post originally appeared on the SailFish Club website.

The Sailfish Club of Florida's 63rd Annual Wirth M. Munroe Ocean Race is set for Friday, December 6, 2019. In 2018, the race added a 40-mile course called The Sprint, from Fort Lauderdale to Palm Beach, which complemented the existing 60-mile Miami-to-Palm Beach track, known as The Classic. Last year, five boats entered The Sprint race and 23 raced on The Classic course.    

The Sprint will start off Port Everglades in Fort Lauderdale, while The Classic will start off Government Cut in Miami Beach. Both courses will finish off the Palm Beach Inlet. All crews will be welcome at the Sailfish Club’s legendary Rum Punch reception, buffet dinner and awards ceremony. The Classic Course will be scored as part of the SORC's "Islands in the Stream" series, which includes the Miami-Nassau Race, the Lauderdale-Key West Race, the Miami-Havana Race and the Pineapple Cup from Miami to Montego Bay. The Sprint Course will not be scored as part of the series.   

For decades the Wirth M. Munroe Ocean Race started in Miami, but it was shortened to a single Fort Lauderdale-Palm Beach course several years ago to encourage participation. Three years ago, as a tribute to the race’s 60th anniversary, organizers returned to the longer course starting in Miami. Interest in both courses prompted organizers to offer the two-course format in 2018.

The Organizing Authority for the race consists of The Sailfish Club of Florida in partnership with the Storm Trysail Club and the support of the Biscayne Bay Yacht Club. The SORC and the Sailfish Club of Florida will oversee race management. Please enter the race by signing up online at www.YachtScoring.com

For more information, please contact Sarah Gay at (561) 844-0206 or e-mail [email protected]