October 14, 2019

350 collegiate sailors make the largest turnout in the IOR History

Featured News, Regatta News , IOR Regatta

Fordham U Wins “Hoffman Trophy” at the Intercollegiate Offshore Regatta

LARCHMONT, N.Y. (October 14, 2019) – The Storm Trysail Club’s 2019 Intercollegiate Offshore Regatta (IOR) Presented by ShopRite of Carteret concluded Sunday having completed a total of three races in “drifty-shifty” conditions.  A total of 48 boats with over 350 collegiate sailors (plus one safety officer/owner’s rep per boat) participated in one of the largest turnouts in the event’s almost 50-year history. Forty-two colleges were represented, and six colleges sailed on two boats. The event was hosted by Larchmont Yacht Club.

Butch Ulmer, the Event Chair and PRO who has been running the event for (in his words) “Way too many years!” described this year’s edition: “It was a highly successful event despite the challenging sailing conditions – challenging for both the competitors and the Race Committee. The fact that the sun was out, the weather was temperate, and the parties were good, made up for the less-than-ideal breeze.” 

Jacksonville University – a “rookie entry”, having never sent a team to the IOR before –surprised with a win in the very competitive J/109 class. Team Captain Telmo Basterra, from Bilbao, Spain, has a fair amount of experience on a Farr 40 in his home country, but most of the team was relatively new to keel boats. Ian Hunter, their tactician, said their key to victory was “All boatspeed. We looked smart because we were fast. This was our school’s first offshore event EVER!” Basterra explains the effort it took to get to the event; “At first it was hard to convince our coach, but we had an advocate – Gary Van Tassel - who loaned us his Carrera 290 and pushed us and the school to make it happen.” Hunter continued “We even had to raise some of our own money; the school contributed some, and Mr. Van Tassel also pitched in to make this happen. We hope we can come back next year and build on this win.”

The J/44 class is traditionally sailed by Academy teams. This year the winner of the class, the United States Naval Academy, was awarded the “James D. Bishop Trophy”, named after the longtime STC member and supporter of the J/44 class who passed away last year. This is the second year in a row that Navy took home the impressively large trophy. Skipper Hayden Kuzemchak had never sailed at all before coming to the Naval Academy, but has gotten plenty of experience on the Academy’s Navy 44’s. “ The J/44’s are a lot like the Navy 44’s. It’s great to have that baseline experience. There is not a better platform than a big boat to learn how to perform under stress, working through the personnel and equipment issues.  Communication and management are really the big thing you learn.” Tactician Katie Boyle took a tour of a Navy 44 when she was a younger kid and she admits that the boats were one of the reasons that she applied to the Naval Academy. “One of the lessons I’ve learned on big boats is dealing with the unexpected, being flexible and able to change plans; taking all of the factors in consideration.” Both Kuzemchak and Boyle hope to serve in submarines after graduation.

University of Michigan took home First Place in Class One – the PHRF class sailing the largest boats. U of M was sailing one of Oakcliff’s Farr 40’s. Captain August Sturm thought the key to their performance was “You had to have a good start, so you could sail clean and stay out of dirty air. We had great starts in the two races we won, but the third one we were over early and had to battle back to take third.” Kyle Doyle, the tactician, felt that “Crew movement and weight positioning were also critical. In that light air, you can’t shake the rig.” As both are seniors, Kyle added “This was a great way to go out!”

Fordham University took the “Paul Hoffman” prize for Best Overall Performance and was presented the trophy by Paul’s son Binky Hoffman. Fordham had won their class last year but were edged out for the Hoffman. This year, they outdid their previous year’s performance to take the biggest trophy of the regatta with three straight bullets – the only team with a 1,1,1 scoreline.

Alton J. Evans, Commodore of the Storm Trysail Club, told the crowd of over 400 that “The unique thing about this regatta is that college isn’t the point. It’s about the sailing after college, whetting college students’ appetite for offshore and big boat sailing, and feeling that spirit of camaraderie that the Storm Trysail Club is famous for.”

Evans went on to thank “co-organizer Larchmont YC for hosting the event, the dozens of volunteers, the Race Committee, and the owners of the boats who generously loan the teams their boats for the regatta. It is only through the collective efforts and generosity provided by all of these people that we’ve been able to give thousands of young sailors over the years a taste for offshore racing.”

The Storm Trysail Club would also like to thank the following sponsors, without whom this regatta would not be possible: ShopRite of Carteret, Helly Hansen, Dimension-Polyant Sailcloth, Gifted of Larchmont, Safe Flight Instrument Corporation, The Corinthians, UK Sailmakers, and Craft NY. In addition, thanks go to J. Paul Gilman and Doug Lynn for their personal donations.