This trophy is awarded to the winner of the Commodore James. D. Bishop Class, which is the J/44 Class in recognition of Jim’s longtime involvement with that class. A long-time member of the Storm Trysail Club, Jim Bishop’s contributions to the sport of sailing have touched many clubs and organizations over the past five decades. Racing since a teenager, and entering world of ocean racing in the early 1950s, Jim spent much of his life sailing IODs and J/44s, many named Gold Digger. He raced IODs around the globe, and, as the President of the Long Island Sound J/44 class since 1990, Jim was the visionary who developed the practice of class-owned sails that are rotated between boats each regatta to keep the class competitive and affordable. An ocean racer at heart, Jim sailed 23 Newport to Bermuda Races (winning the J/44 class in 1996). Another pride of Jim’s was the Coastal Queen, the graciously restored Chesapeake buyboat that he brought to this regatta every year.

The James D. Bishop perpetual trophy was originally donated to the Storm Trysail Foundation by the Ulmer family, in honor of Jim Bishop and his magnanimous contributions to Storm Trysail and the sport of sailing.  In 2022, the trophy was re-designated and is awarded to the individual or team who, in the opinion of the event organizers, have done a significant amount to enhance or further the ideals of the IOR through dedication, sportsmanship, or generosity.

2012 US Naval Academy
2013 Not Awarded
2014 Adam Loory
2016 Commodore Charles Ulmer
2017 Gold Digger – Maine Maritime
2018 Maxine – U.S. Naval Academy
2019 Maxine – U.S. Naval Academy
2020 Not Awarded
2021 Not Awarded
2022 Not Awarded
2023 Ann Meyer

Ann Meyer 2023 winner