March 27, 2017

Storm Trysail Foundation Seamanship & Sailing Legacy Awards Dinner 2017

Seamanship Award - The Crew of High Noon

The Foundation presented its Seamanship award to the entire crew of High Noon for its outstanding performance, first to finish, in the 2017 Newport Bermuda Race St. David's Lighthouse Division.

High Noon Crew web

High Noon crew - left to right - Richard O'Leary, Brooks Daley, Hector McKemey, Carina Becker, Peter Becker, Madelyn Ploch, 
William McKeige, Robert Alexander, Collin Alexander, Chairman and President STF John Fisher, (crewmember not shown Guillermo Altadill)

Sailing Legacy Award - Peter "Luigi" Reggio

Storm Trysail Club member Peter "Luigi" Reggio has earned the respect of competitors from Opti regattas to the Olympics to the America's Cup by revolutionizing the approach of Race Committees throughout the sailing world.  After Luigi committees became open to input from the competitors and were in constant communication with the competitors. Luigi's approach modernized the running of races from the days of communication limited to sound and flag signals to today's almost open mic systems.

Fisher Reggio Receiving Legacy Award web

STF President John Fisher presenting Peter "Luigi" Reggio with the Sailing Legacy Award.

Photo Credits: Howie McMichael