August 26, 2019

ORR Mass Bay Champions are Crowned at 2019 Ted Hood Regatta

Regatta News, Station News , Ted Hood Regatta


Ben Chigar's Summit 40 Escape Velocity took the ORR Class 1 Top spot.

Hot Spur.jpg

Phil DiCarlo's Frers 36 Hot Spur won ORR Class 3 and took home the Storm Trysail Club's Steve Cruse Memorial Trophy.

105 lightair start.jpg

J105's battling for position in Race One on Friday.


Chris Zabailo's J112E Dopodomani wins ORR Class 2.

Deja Voodoo.jpg

Bill Zartler's Deja Voodo wins a strong J105 Class who had gathered at the THR to prepare for the J105 North American's taking place in Marblehead in September.

crowds at awards.jpg

Great Crowds at the Ted Hood Regatta awards.

The Storm Trysail Club's Ted Hood Regatta returned to Marblehead August 23rd -25th with great racing and entertainment, hosted this year by the Eastern Yacht Club at their beautiful sailing center.  STC Marblehead Station Captain Clarke Smith and EYC's Commodore Ward Blodgett welcomed racers and sponsors at Thursday night's skippers meeting with complimentary snacks and drinks provided by sponsors. 

The Eastern, Corinthian, and Boston Yacht Clubs of Marblehead each ran race circles during the event and a  group of Storm Trysail Marblehead Station volunteers kept things running smoothly shore side all weekend. 

Friday racers awoke to a beautiful day with challenging light winds in the forecast.  A steady 10-12 knot breeze kept things going and two or three races were completed by the end of the day depending on your circle.  A hand-full of boats started in the late afternoon on a 90 mile distance race which would finish early Saturday morning. After racing, the tent was rocking with the Nick Consone Band and great food provided by the EYC.

Saturday morning started with the traditional serenading of the fleet by dixieland jazz band The Riverboat Stompers, who toured the mooring field and yacht clubs playing from the aft deck of Station member Jamie and Beverly Noyes's yacht Virago.  Eventual distance race winner JB Braun and his son Tucker on their Taylor 38 Eos made it back to their mooring for a personal performance by the Stompers!

A brisk Northerly woke participants up after the light conditions of Friday, and great racing took place on all three lines.  At the end of the day, podium positions were in question with tight racing reported by all.  Daily awards were presented before more music, great rum drinks provided by Goslings, and beer from the Mighty Squirrel.

Sunday morning brought an even fresher breeze from the north, and as sailors made their way to the starting areas, they realized the sea state was much larger than expected.  All three race committees struggled to get anchors set and marks positioned for over an hour before the decision was made to abandon for the day.  While some were disappointed, all were understanding of the challenges faced by our great volunteers, and a huge crowd gathered back at the EYC for lunch, music, and the final awards ceremony. 

Wrapping up the awards ceremony, the Storm Trysail Club's Marblehead Station awarded the Steven L. Cruse Memorial Trophy to Phil DiCarlo for winning the ORR div. 3 Mass Bay Championship and for his contributions to sailing in the Marblehead fleet over many years.  Lexi Cruse and son Billy presented the trophy to Phil who had some heart felt comments about his time sailing with Steve.

The final party broke up around 5:00pm with many laughs and stories of time on the water.  Another great event in the books and by all accounts another great success for the Marblehead Station.  Thanks to all for a great event, and see you next year!